Coverart for item
The Resource The wife upstairs, Rachel Hawkins

The wife upstairs, Rachel Hawkins

Label
The wife upstairs
Title
The wife upstairs
Statement of responsibility
Rachel Hawkins
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins's The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1979-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hawkins, Rachel
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3608.A893463
LC item number
W54 2021
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Widowers
  • Housewives
  • Rich people
  • Dog walking
  • Drowning
  • Secrecy
  • Death
  • Suspense fiction
Label
The wife upstairs, Rachel Hawkins
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1151076472
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
290 pages
Isbn
9781250245496
Lccn
2020035334
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1151076472
Label
The wife upstairs, Rachel Hawkins
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1151076472
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
290 pages
Isbn
9781250245496
Lccn
2020035334
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1151076472

Library Locations

    • Pine River Public Library (Leon-Saxeville)Borrow it
      Leon-Saxeville Library N4715 County Road E, Pine River, WI, 54965, US
      44.1757285 -89.0869592
Processing Feedback ...